The Dark, Trashy and Grainy Artistic Nude Photo Shoot by Jade Sambrook

For years now Jade Sambrook has been wanting to do an artistic nude photo shoot that would have a dark, trashy and grainy theme to it.

I’ve been constantly thinking that this could be done in the middle of the night, either in a back alley or even in the middle of an isolated street where a street lamp could be used for minimal lighting.

On several occasions I spoke of this project to some of my photographer friends, and of course while they were open to the idea, it would always end up on the back burner.

Recently I purchased a Nova Bluetooth off-camera flash for iPhone, which provides the opportunity to place the flash away from the iPhone camera and therefore get better quality photos. The Nova flash also allows for more artistic photography compared to what would be achieved using the on-board flash of the smartphone.

Armed with my iPhone 6 and the Nova flash, I decided to finally try out my dark, trashy and grainy artistic nude photo shoot so that I could at least see the results. And of course any excuse to be naked works for me, especially if it’s outdoors.

At about midnight I headed to an isolated back alley wearing my kilt, since it is quite easy to remove and I am already naked underneath. Unfortunately at this time of the year it is still a little too cold in the middle of the night to take everything off, so I settled on simply removing the kilt and I ended up taking the photos wearing my kilt hose, a t-shirt, a vest and a tuque. In my opinion this was even better than if I were 100% naked, as it added an element of style to the photos.

While I was not completely naked, I definitely did feel naked considering that cold middle of the night breeze. Now obviously in regular circumstances a cold middle of the night breeze would not be considered a good thing for a nude male model, but for me any ”shrinkage factor” was of no concern. Again, I just wanted to see how successful I could be at getting a series of dark, trashy and grainy photos while nude, or in this case, semi-nude.

Now most likely the results from using a high resolution DSLR camera would be quite different, maybe even offering better quality. However, by taking photos in the dark, the iPhone 6 camera was able to add that grainy look that I was seeking.

In the end I am quite pleased with the results, and I am particularly happy with the flexibility offered by the Nova off-camera flash. I am definitely going to attempt another photo shoot of the sort, especially as summer approaches and the cold breeze disappears. Maybe then I’ll be able to take off more than just the kilt, although I might have to find something else for an added element of style.

In the meantime, if you are a professional photographer and would be willing to help me accomplish this project in the future, I would certainly not decline.

Photo of Jade Sambrook without his kilt in a trashy dark back alley from the Trashy Dark Naked Alley Photo Series.

Photo of Jade Sambrook without his kilt in a trashy dark back alley from the Trashy Dark Naked Alley Photo Series.

Photo of Jade Sambrook without his kilt in a trashy dark back alley from the Trashy Dark Naked Alley Photo Series.

Photo of Jade Sambrook without his kilt in a trashy dark back alley from the Trashy Dark Naked Alley Photo Series.

One thought on “The Dark, Trashy and Grainy Artistic Nude Photo Shoot by Jade Sambrook

  1. sassycoupleok April 27, 2015 / 19:13

    looks fun !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

